GET TO KNOW ME!!

image2Why I chose Organic?

I started with a non-red meat eating lifestyle. I never really loved red meat and after a traumatic experience with -dead cows- at school I decided to take my dislike into my diet. My sister is a nutritionist and she got me into the healthy world so I started exploring the healthy lifestyle and found out about organic food and got a lot interested into being green and giving back to the world. I started going to the farmers market and got a lot more involved with people on the inside. Going to the supermarket and founding out that we have the healthier and greener choices but we just got to choose the lifestyle.

So choose it, not for the trend or to be “cool” but because you want to live a healthier lifestyle for yourself and for the world. Don’t label yourself into any category just the healthy one, that’s what I do!!

-Pilar Arriola

Learn More about Dietary Preferences

  • Vegan – This is one that we have all likely heard about. On the complete opposite end of the spectrum from a carnivore, vegans do not eat any meat (red or white….that includes seafood and poultry), dairy products, certain wines and sugars, honey or any animal byproducts (such as gelatin.) They also tend to abstain from the use of leather and fur products.
  • Fruitarian – This one is new to me and I only heard about it after recently watching the movie “Notting Hill.” Fruitarians lead an even stricter diet than vegans. They follow the same restrictions as a vegan however will only eat fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds that naturally fall from a plant or tree and can be harvested without killing or harming the plant. There is some wiggle room here in that some fruitarians do not eat nuts and seeds and others do. This I’m guessing is a personal choice. I have never personally known a fruitarian but would love to hear from one. Please do email me if you know of someone. It could make for an interesting chat/post.
  • Lacto Vegetarian – Now we’re getting into the realm of true “types of vegetarians.” A lacto vegetarian (me) is the same as a vegan but does partake in dairy products such as milk and cheese. Mmmmm CHEESE. Ahem…Excuse me…I digress.
  • Ovo Vegetarian – This one is like a lacto vegetarian but with the dairy and egg restriction flipped – they avoid all meat and dairy products but they do eat eggs. Very rarely have I come across someone with this dietary preference.
  • Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian – A lacto-ovo vegetarian is a combo of the two vegetarians listed above but are game for eating any dairy and egg products.
  • Pescatarian – Now we’re braving into a new territory of terminology. Pescatarians avoid only red meat and poultry.
  • Pollo-tarian – Pronounced poyo, someone of this dietary preference avoids red meat and seafood only.
  • Flexitarian –  For some reason this particular term brings to mind an interesting image of a combo of yoga meets food…. That’s not really the case however it could make for an interesting act on “America’s Got Talent.” I have found an increasing number of my friends and acquaintances that follow this diet mainly for health reasons over anything else. They are similar to lacto-ovo vegetarians but incorporate a limited amount of seafood and poultry into their diet depending on their desire and preference at any given moment.

So having given the full dietary gradient, I’m sure we all fall into one bucket or another. Or perhaps have our feet in two different buckets and are in a transitory phase of evolving from one to the next. Remember it’s important to satisfy your body with the nutrition and vitamins animals give you.

(Thanks to chicagonow.com)

Responder

